Meet the judges for the 2022 Radio Today Podcast Awards, Pt. 2

Welcome to part two of our Meet the Judges episode, spotlighting the industry professionals who judge the Radio Today Podcast Awards 2022.

Last week we presented the first wave of our judges participate in judging the talents of podcasters vying for our first places.

This latest unveiling brings another strong roster of guest judges using their industry experience to find the top entrants for the awards.

Judging will continue until August 14, before the finalists are announced on Monday, August 15.*

Let us introduce you to our next wave of judges:

Tuning Tothill:

Grant Tothill is currently Executive Director of Podcasting for LiSTNR.

Over the past six years, Grant has led the development and growth of original podcast with PodcastOne Australia and in February 2021, the transition to LiSTNR podcasts, piloting the LiSTNR podcast network and playing an active role in the growth of LiSTNR.

As LiSTNR Podcasts expands its original roster, Grant now oversees five major podcast verticals – Entertainment & Culture, Sports, News & Information, Factual & Drama, and Parenting & Children’s Entertainment.

LiSTNR Podcasts now boasts the largest podcast production teams in the southern hemisphere.

Prior to LiSTNR Podcasts, Grant was Managing Director of Digital Audio SCA, Director of PodcastOne Australia and Director of Triple-M network, being one of the original members of the content team that developed the Rock Sport and Comedy format.

David Carter:

Dave is a highly experienced, award-winning creative producer, having spent over 30 years creating compelling content for radio, television and podcasts.

Highly experienced in all aspects of broadcast media and media production, Dave leads the team at media chiefspersonally managing the company’s end-to-end production process and being involved in projects from initial creative concept to final delivery.

Dave has worked on a wide range of content for many national clients and media organizations and is fascinated by people and their stories.

He is passionate about helping people share unique stories with the general public and is also considered one of the nicest people in the business.

Jennifer Gogin:

Jennifer Goggin is responsible for factual and dramatic content for LiSTNR Original Podcasts.

Since joining SCA in 2018, Jen has been responsible for commissioning and developing their original podcast content, as well as growing and developing their in-house production team.

She has created over 55 original Australian podcasts in the genres of comedy, business, health and fitness, finance, parenting, crime and audio fiction.

before joining SCAJen worked for BBC radio where she produced award-winning live radio, historical series and audio documentaries, which were broadcast on the BBC, ABC and TEN.

Jen saw an opportunity in the emerging medium of podcasting in 2012 and has been producing podcasts ever since.

Abe Udy:

Abe is the founder of the audio production company Abe audio.

Originally specializing in the production of radio, TV and online content, the company has grown to provide podcast consultancy and production expertise.

From startup podcasts to established shows, Abe and his team have worked with podcasters of all sizes, helping them create shows their audiences love.

Valerie Geller:

president of Frozen International Media, Valérie works with over 500 TV/Radio stations around the world, training broadcasters and podcasters to create powerful, “NEVER BE BORING” content.

After a career in radio as a program director in New York, news director in San Francisco and executive producer in Los Angeles, she turned to training and consulting and never looked back. .

“That’s the whole story,” says Valerie.

In Australia, she lectured at AFTRintroduced to RCAF Live Radio events and trained presenters and producers SBS and the ABC.

Valérie is a member of the board of directors of New York Festivals International Radio Awards and is the author of five how-to books on growing and engaging broadcast and podcast audiences, his latest, Beyond Powerful Radio.

Nominated by Radio Ink as one of The Most Influential Women in BroadcastingValérie works individually with individuals and organizes seminars and workshops.

Other judges will be announced before the end of the judging process on August 15.

*The original article had an error in the dates which has been amended. We accidentally announced that the trial period would end on August 7th. We apologize for the error.

Key dates:

  • Registrations closed: Sunday, July 24 at 11:59 p.m. AEST
  • Evaluation period: from Monday 25 July to Sunday 14 August
  • Finalists announced: Monday August 15
  • Winners announced: Monday August 22

Main Sponsor:

Supporting Partners

Judging process:
• The awards have a specially curated jury, formed by mixing peers with those from elsewhere in the value chain, to ensure the judgment is informed and considered from all relevant sides of the industry
• Radio Today will publish the complete list of judges during the registration period.
• Judges will be required to score each submission based on specific criteria
• This system ensures that each judge will score each assigned entry and allows the editorial team to identify any potential biases or inconsistencies.
• Judges may recuse themselves from entries if necessary. The process is designed to be transparent and fair for all parties.

About Elaine Morales

Check Also

The Impact Podcast with John Shegerian features Adobe’s Amy White and Angie Bush

LOS ANGELES–(BUSINESS WIRE)–Amy White, global head of corporate social responsibility (CSR) at Adobe and Angie …