First-time winners dominate at Forest City London Music Awards

There is a first time to everything.

Content of the article

There is a first time for everything.

This is especially true if you were nominated for a Forest City London Music Award this year. The virtual gala took place on Saturday, broadcast live on the awards Facebook page.

The winners in all musical categories were winners for the first time without any artist dominating the night of the celebration.

“It’s been a year for new faces and newbies and since our first awards show in 2002 we haven’t seen so many winners for the first time,” Founder and President Mario Circelli said, laughing.

“We’ve seen a solid entry of new talent, young musicians who understand how to make technology work for them. Is it a changing of the guard? I do not think so. It is rather a strengthening of the ranks. It’s like adding strength to the bench. Let’s add to the fun.

Saturday’s gala featured several performances by some of the city’s top musical groups including Leanne Mayer, Lost In Japan, King Cruff and Typo, Thunder Queens, James Patrick Clark and CJ Lee.


Content of the article

There were surprises among the presenters, including Brett Kissel, arguably Canada’s most popular country music star; rocker JJ Wilde, this year’s winner of the Juno for Rock Album of the Year, the first woman to win the award since Alanis Morrissette in 1996; and global news anchor Jeff McArthur.

Circelli said the city’s music community deserves public support after suffering from the devastating pandemic that has darkened all live performance stages. Many artists still flourished.

“Part of this is because of the artist’s ability to focus on writing, recording, filming music videos and just connecting with her audience through social media,” Circelli said.

“The pandemic killed the live show but spawned tremendous creativity and production. The FCLMA saw it in the volume of submissions and votes cast.


Content of the article


Donor: A bond between Adam Bain (fundraiser) and Tyler Stewart (mental health awareness)

Pop: Justin maki

Blues: Benoit Trio (Larry VanDeMaele)

Country: Justine Chantal

Folk / Roots: The pairs

Contemporary singer-songwriter: Deni Gauthier

Metal: Abandoned souls

Punk: Moore Avenue Underground

Rocky: Basic white

Hip hop: Strange breed

Electronic: Opening

The fan favorite: Michael trudgen

Ontario Independent Artist: Emm gryner

Major Ontario Recording Artist: Justin bieber

Youth Award (High School Battle of the Bands): Custie (Justin Heffernan) from Mother Teresa High School

Producer / Engineer of the Year (juror): Alex Emrich, for Sarina Haggarty’s Not Over You Yet

Video clip of the year (juror): Darryl Lahteenmaa, director of You You You by Dayna Manning

FCLMA Fantasy Band 2021: Shaun Sanders (vocals), Steve Clark (bass), Jeff Bialkowski (guitar), Ted Peacock (drums), Tracey Frank (horns), Shane Cook (strings), Chuckee Zehr (keyboard), Anne Moniz (utility player).

[email protected]



Postmedia is committed to maintaining a lively but civil discussion forum and encourages all readers to share their views on our articles. Comments may take up to an hour of moderation before appearing on the site. We ask that you keep your comments relevant and respectful. We have enabled email notifications. You will now receive an email if you receive a reply to your comment, if there is an update to a comment thread that you follow, or if a user that you follow comments. Visit our Community rules for more information and details on how to adjust your E-mail The settings.

About Elaine Morales

Check Also

Pierre Kwenders wins the Polaris Music Prize for “José Louis and the Paradox Of Love”

Pierre Kwenders won the 2022 Polaris Music Prize for his album “José Louis and the …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.